Manage Lost Mode
Manage Lost Mode lets you perform recovery actions on devices that have already been reported as lost. You can disable Lost Mode when a device is recovered, remotely wipe its data if it is compromised, or play a sound (on supported iOS/iPadOS devices) to help locate it.
About this task
Procedure
- In the BigFix WebUI, navigate to .
- Under Actions , select Lost Mode.
- Under Lost Mode Operation, select Manage Lost Mode.
-
Click Edit Devices to add or update your target device
and review the Target Devices section.
Note: Only eligible devices are displayed.
- Supervised (iOS/iPadOS) or fully managed (Android) company-owned devices
- Devices not currently in Lost Mode
-
In the Recovery Actions section, select one of the following
options based on your scenario:
- Disable Lost Mode: Select this option once the device is safely returned. This unlocks the screen and returns everything to normal use. (Note: On Apple devices, the finder cannot unlock the device directly; it must be disabled via BigFix WebUI dashboard).
- Wipe Data: If the device cannot be safely recovered or is
permanently compromised, select this option. This sends a remote factory
reset command to erase all corporate and personal data.Note: This action is irreversible.
- Play Sound:For IOS and iPadOS devices, select this if you believe the device is nearby. It will trigger an audible alert on the device to help you track it down physically.
-
Click Send Command at the bottom of the page to deploy
the lock screen and secure the device.
Note: If you need to abort the setup before sending the command, click Cancel to discard your changes and return to the previous screen.