Customizing and rerunning jobs in the plan

Gain greater flexibility and control over your submitted workload by manually rerunning jobs directly from the plan. After a job completes with a final status, you can customize and rerun the job by using either the existing job definition or another definition.

You can use this functionality if a job lacks a configured run cycle or if you need to modify its attributes after submission. This new feature empowers you to respond to changing business needs or recover from issues without creating new jobs from scratch. You can optimize your workload management and save time by using the following rerun methods:
  • Quick recovery and reuse
    Rerun the job by using a different definition to change the original job definition and quickly initiate a modified workload or rerun the job with the same definition to quickly initiate a previously run workload.
  • Targeted execution
    Rerun the job from a specific step in the same definition. This targeted approach saves time and processing power by allowing you to bypass steps that already completed successfully.
  • Adaptable logic
    Rerun the job with another task definition to test alternative logic or adapt to new requirements without cluttering your environment with new jobs.

When you rerun a job, you have precise control over its run. You can further customize the rerun by modifying its script, scheduled date, time, and priority. Additionally, if the previous instance ran on a pool workstation, you can choose to securely rerun the job on the exact same workstation where it ran earlier. For more information, see Rerunning jobs in the plan.