Using the Notes® Install Cleanup Utility (NICE) tool

You can use the supplied Notes® Install Cleanup Executable (NICE) tool to clean up a failed install, failed uninstall, or failed upgrade. You can also use the tool to uninstall an existing version of Notes®, and clean up extraneous files, before performing an upgrade installation. The tool is available for Notes® on supported Windows™ platforms only, and must be run by an administrator.

About this task

The NICE tool (nice.exe) is supplied in the Utility subdirectory in the Notes® install kit. It can be run on all Notes® releases 6.5 and newer.

Note: Before running the NICE tool, consider backing up the Notes® client.

The tool removes various files and settings, including registry setting values, program files, and Notes® user data files. It obtains the location of applicable files and folders by searching the registry for settings that contain a "xpdInstallLocation" or "XPD_INSTALL_LOCATION" value, such as the following:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[UpgradeCode]
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[UpgradeCode]
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[UpgradeCode]
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE1]
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE2]
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE3]
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE3]
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE3]
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE1]
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE1]
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE2]
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\IBM\Lotus\Expeditor\[TARGETUPGRADECODE2]

The tool checks to see if Notes® processes and services are running.

If NICE detects certain processes, you are instructed to shut down; NICE does not close these processes for you. The list includes the following:
  • notes2.exe
  • ntaskldr.exe
  • notes.exe
  • nlnotes.exe
  • sametime75.exe
  • nminder.exe
  • soffice.bin
  • soffice.exe
If NICE detects certain services, it will stop them. The service list includes the following:
  • Notes® Diagnostics
  • Multi-user Cleanup Service
  • Notes® Single Logon
  • Notes® Smart Upgrade Service
NICE then removes the following items:
  • Shared DLL files based on the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\SharedDlls registry setting
  • Notes® workspace directory (for release 8.0 and newer) -- User's Data Directory/workspace
  • Program files (if the Remove all program files check box or command line option is enabled) -- All \Program Files\IBM\Notes directory contents are removed except the \Program Files\IBM\Notes\Data subdirectory.
    Note: For NICE to remove the preceding items, Remove Data Files must be disabled.
  • Desktop shortcuts -- Notes®, Domino® Designer, Domino® Administrator desktop shortcuts are removed, as are applicable Start > Programs menu shortcuts.
  • Notes® data files (if the Remove all data files check box or command line option is enabled) -- The Notes® data directory, as specified in the registry, is deleted.
Note: NICE uses registry key HKLM\Lotus\Notes\Path to determine where Notes® is installed. It also checks for the Expeditor location in case it was installed to a different location than the Notes® program files.
Consider running NICE in the following situations:
  • Clean install -- Remove the existing Notes® installation, and clean the registry, to prepare for a clean install.
  • Failed install -- Detect the install version (release) from the registry and clean up registry settings and files on the system to prepare for a clean install of the same release.
  • Failed upgrade -- Detect the install version (release) from the registry and clean up registry settings and files on the system to prepare for a clean install or the upgrade release.
  • Failed uninstall -- Detect the version (release) from the registry and clean up registry settings and files on the system to prepare for a clean install.

For all situations, the following occurs:

If a Notes® version is not detected in the registry but files exist in the default location , you are prompted to remove those files from disk.

For example, if there is no entry for Notes® in the Add/Remove Programs dialog box, NICE detects whether there is a key in registry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Lotus\Notes, gets the PROGDIR and DATADIR information from the registry, and does the deletion. If there is no key in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Lotus\Notes, NICE does nothing.

If there is no Add/Remove Programs entry for Notes®, but there are registry keys in either HKCU\Software\Lotus\Notes\Installer or HKLM\Software\Lotus\Notes, you can remove those registry settings. For example, if there is no Add/Remove Programs entry for Notes®, NICE gets the PROGDIR and DATADIR information from HKLM\Software\Lotus\Notes and continues to remove program files, remove shortcuts, and clean the registry.

Procedure

  1. Log in to the Windows™ operating system as an administrative user and ensure that Notes® is not running.
  2. Locate and run the NICE tool; double-click the nice.exe executable from the Notes® install kit's Utility subdirectory or run nice.exe from a command line.
    The tool checks for an existing Notes® installation, informs you what version is installed, and enables you to specify removal options.
  3. Optional: Enable Remove all program files to remove applicable files and folders in the \Program Files\IBM\Notes directory.
    Note: All \Program Files\IBM\Notes directory contents are removed except the \Program Files\IBM\Notes\Data subdirectory.
  4. Optional: Enable Remove all data files to remove the user's data directory, as specified in the registry.
    Note: The Remove all data files check box is disabled when Notes® is installed in multi user mode.
  5. Click Remove to delete the files specified by the selected options.
    Note: If neither option is enabled, the tool removes only the registry entries, stops services, and leaves all the files on disk.
  6. Respond to any confirmation prompts.
  7. A progress bar indicates the progress of the cleanup process. When cleanup is complete, the NICE user interface closes.