Enabling maintenance mode

Maintenance mode blocks certain activities on the server so you can run important tasks that require the server to be idle.

Before you begin

Ensure that you have the permissions to manage maintenance mode.

About this task

When you enable maintenance mode, users can log in to the server as usual and perform some limited tasks. A message is displayed at the top indicating the start and estimated end time of the maintenance activity. While the maintenance mode is enabled, some of the tasks/actions are blocked and some are allowed. Below is a list of such tasks:
Tasks blocked during maintenance mode Tasks not blocked during maintenance mode
Execution of new global, component, and application processes.

With additional permissions, you can allow users to execute new deployments while maintenance mode is enabled.

Processes which are started before maintenance mode are allowed to run for completion.
Execution of processes triggered by the calendar, including recurring deployments. Sub-processes kicked off by processes that are started before maintenance mode are allowed.
Execution of processes triggered by a repeating a process request. Manual tasks that are part of a process can be responded to, and the process are allowed to continue.
Approval or rejection of any approval tasks. Making changes to the server, such as changing properties, creating elements such as applications and resources, and editing processes.
New version imports. -
Automatic version imports. -
Processes started upon completion of a version import. -
Auto Discovery. -
Auto Compare. -
Auto Configure. -

Procedure

To enable maintenance mode immediately:
  1. Click Settings > System Settings.
  2. Activate the Enable Maintenance Mode option in the General Settings field.
  3. Save the settings.
To schedule maintenance mode with a maintenance blackout,
  1. Click Settings > Manage Maintenance Blackout, and create a maintenance blackout by selecting the start date and time and end date and time.
    When the blackout period starts, the Deploy Server enters maintenance mode. The server is not shut down, but certain activities are blocked as described above.
    Note: You require permissions to create a maintenance blackout.

Results

The maintenance mode is enabled.

What to do next