Catalog workflow template
Workspaces host catalog management operations to support collaboration, and approval processes. Workflow stages track and manage changes to catalogs, categories, products, attributes, and attribute dictionaries.
Purpose
Workflow service tracks, reviews, and publishes changes in catalog. For more
information, see the workflow and workspace page.
Important: Catalog changes made within a workspace are isolated from the published
environment. These changes do not affect live runtime behavior until they are
reviewed, approved, and published.
Function
Catalog Service supports the following workflow models. Select a workflow when creating a workspace for catalog.
- Default Catalog Workflow
- This model supports collaborative catalog management and review processes.
Use this workflow for scenarios that involve multiple contributors, teams,
or business processes that require structural validation.
- Draft
- Create and modify catalog content.
- Collaborate
- Share content with workspace members for review.
- Complete
- Submit content for approval and publishing readiness.
- Published
- Make approved content available for downstream use.
- Catalog Auto-Approved Workflow
- This model handles import and bulk-update scenarios. The workflow bypasses
individual entity validation and relies on project publication to make
changes available. Use this option for catalog imports and recurring
maintenance activities.
- Approval Ready
- Content is available for updates and awaits publication.
- Published
- Content is published and available for downstream use.
Workflow access
Catalog workflows control which team members can view, edit, review, and publish
catalog data at each stage of the workspace lifecycle.
- Default Catalog Workflow
-
Stage Access Draft (In Progress) The workspace author and workspace team members can view and edit catalog entities. Collaborate (In Progress) All workspace team members can view and edit catalog entities and collaborate on changes. Complete (In review) or Ready to Publish All users have read-only access. Only catalog administrators and system administrators can approve or reject the workspace. After the content is approved, the status changes to Completed and the stage changes to Ready to Publish. Published All users have read-only access. You must publish the workspace manually.
- Catalog Auto-Approved Workflow
-
Stage Access ApprovalReady Workspace team members can view and edit catalog entities through the import process. Published All users have read-only access.