Deleting a user FAQ
The following is a set of frequently asked questions about deleting a user from HCL Traveler.
-
Is deleting records from the Traveler database the correct way to remove configurations for users and devices?
No. Deleting records directly from the Traveler database is not supported. The delete commands handle removing and cleaning up the records associated with a user or device.
-
What delete commands delete which Traveler data?
tell traveler delete <DeviceID> <username>- deletes all sync data related to the user.tell traveler security delete <DeviceID> <username>- deletes the security records from the SEC_RECORDS table.tell traveler admindata delete <DeviceID> <username>- aborts all syncs processing in Traveler, unregisters the devices and clears all of the various cached information that Traveler keeps for the given device.
-
Should all HCL Traveler user and device configuration changes and deletions be done from the server console, using the
tell travelercommands?Yes. Everything should be done using the tell commands. The tell commands can be executed in various ways:
- Tell commands on the Domino® console.
- Using the Traveler User Home Page (
/traveler). - When using console commands such as
tell traveler security allstatus, why does the system show old device IDs for users who no longer have those devices?
tell traveler delete <device> <user>is the proper way to delete a device. This command deletes all knowledge that the HCL Traveler server has of the device, except for the security record. Because of the importance of the security information, it is not cleaned by thedeletecommand. In addition, HCL Traveler auto-deletes devices that have not been used in a certain number of days (this setting is on the HCL Traveler tab in the Server document). This is another reason security information is kept separate from delete, so that the device cannot return after being auto-deleted without security actions. The admin must separately clear the security actions for them to be cleared. You can clear the security actions inLotusTraveler.nsfor with tell commands, but not using the user managed security web page. -
If I want to transition a device from one user to another, what is the correct way to remove the current user from the device before allocating it to the new user?
The correct way is to run the following two tell commands:
tell traveler security delete <device> <olduser> tell traveler delete <device> <olduser> -
When deleting a user, why does
deleteorresetnot also clear the security record?Because an auto-delete can happen after a specified number of days, it cannot clear the security state. Also, if user commands are enabled in the servlet (the server document), a user could delete the device to circumvent the security protocols. As a result, the
deletecommand does not delete the security record. The admin is the only one who can clear security actions.
Parent topic:Deleting a user from HCL Traveler