Skip to content

Remote wipe

If a mobile device is lost or stolen, an administrator can issue a remote wipe command to remove all sensitive data from the device. You can remove the HCL Traveler application and data from the device and, depending on the device, restore the device to the factory default settings.

  1. Before wiping a device, make sure that you do not add the user to the deny list. This is because the device must be able to connect to receive the wipe command. The deny list has no exceptions so the user must have access until after the wipe has taken place.

  2. Use the tell traveler security command.

  3. Select one or more of these options:

    • Hard Reset Device – This option restores the device to factory default settings, and removes the HCL Traveler application and all PIM and mail data that was synced with HCL Traveler.
    • HCL Traveler Application and Data – This option removes the HCL Traveler application and all PIM and mail data that was synced with HCL Traveler. General remote wipe considerations:

    The wipe command is enacted on the device the next time it connects. If the device is connected at the time, the wipe occurs immediately.

    The user (and not the admin) can perform these Remote Wipe actions from the Manage Security section of the HCL Traveler User Home Page, assuming that the system administrator allows it.

    Android remote wipe considerations:

    Wipe device is only available if the Android Device Administrator is active. The Android Device Administrator is only active if configured in the Traveler settings - such as "Require Device Password", "Prohibit Camera" (Android 9 and below only), and "Prohibit devices incapable of security enablement".

    Apple remote wipe considerations:

    Apple devices support only the HCL Traveler Application and Data option.

  4. Clearing a wipe request
    If a lost device is found you may need to cancel a wipe request to reset it. You also need to unlock a user account after a wipe command has been issued.

  5. User managed security
    With user managed security, users can remotely wipe or lock their own devices without the help of an administrator using the Manage Security section of the HCL Traveler User Home Page.

Parent topic:Assigning preferences and security settings to devices