Enabling the change history for approved and canceled task groups
About this task
By default, workspace change history is enabled when you enable the
WorkspaceChangeHistoryEnabled property as part of enabling
workspaces for your environment. When this basic workspace change history is
enabled, a change history record is created whenever an object is created, updated,
or deleted within a workspace. This recording maintains a log at the task group
level of all changes that are made to business objects in a task group that is not
approved or canceled. The change history records are stored in the database table for the workspace where the changes
occurred.
If you enable only this basic history recording, the history records for task group changes are deleted when the task group is approved or canceled. While the task group is not approved or canceled, the change history records for the task group are visible within the properties view History tab for the task group. The records in this tab can be opened, undone, and compared to approved content while the task group is not approved or canceled.
- BaseChangeHistoryEnabled
- When you enable this property, change history is recorded whenever an
object that is approved content is created, updated, or deleted with
or the Data Load utility, not just within a
workspace. The base change history is also recorded when a workspace
task group is approved and changes for the object are merged into the
approved content data. The base change history records are stored in the
database table. The workspace for these
records is specified as IBM_WC_BASE to represent approved content.
The setting for this property is independent of the workspace change history settings. The base change records do not display in any user interface.
- WorkspaceChangeHistoryAuditEnabled
- When you enable this property, the list of change history records in the
properties view for a task group remains visible after the task group is
in one of the following approved or canceled states:
- Complete
- Published
- Publish failed
- Canceled
BaseChangeHistoryEnabled and
WorkspaceChangeHistoryAuditEnabled properties, the change
history for approved or canceled records remain visible in the properties view for
the task group. The base change history records are also created for the approved
task groups. The change history behavior for task groups that are not approved or
canceled does not change from the default behavior. When the task group is deleted,
the change history records are also deleted, regardless of the properties enabled.
Procedure
- Open the configuration file.
- Optional:
Enable the base change history recording for workspace task groups.
-
In the wc-server.xml file, search for the
<BaseChangeHistoryEnabled />configurable property. -
Set the value for this property to
"true"to enable recording the base change history for task groups in your database. To disable this change history recording, set the value to"false".
-
In the wc-server.xml file, search for the
- Optional:
Enable the audit change history recording for approved or canceled workspace
task groups.
- Save and close the file.
- Update your deployment package to include your updated files. For more information, see ../../install/tasks/tiginstall_updatedocker.html.